Why I’m a little concerned about clothes subscriptions (Part 1)

Hello, lovelies!

Back in May I decided to try out Stitch Fix.

A little background on the company for those of you who don’t know much about it: They are a personal styling service where you fill out a style profile and they tailor 5 items to your likes and measurements. You can sign up to get a “fix” – their term for the shipment they send to you – once a month or upon request and you get three days to try the items on in your home and decide if you want to keep them before sending the items you don’t want back in a prepaid shipping bag they provide for you. You pay $20 to be styled and that $20 goes as a credit towards anything you decide to keep from the shipment. They also offer a discount if you decide to keep all 5 items. They also run a promotion where you get a $25 credit for every person you refer who orders a fix.
(Here’s my link if this strikes your fancy: link).

Now, I get really excited about these kinds of things being that I am a busy college student working an office job and taking summer classes in the hope of graduating on time next spring (cross your fingers for me, please!). I have little time to go shopping. And, since I don’t have my own car, I’m reliant on where the bus can take me or the kindness and availability of my roommate or friends if I want to go shopping. This leads me to do most of my shopping online. But, since I am not a very thin woman and my dress size alone fluctuates between a US size 8 and a 12 depending upon brand, I’m a little wary about buying without trying it on. I very rarely, if ever, buy pants or jeans online because that’s just too much of a gamble for my play-it-safe heart.

However, the idea of a personal stylist that could help me update my wardrobe to be a little more business appropriate based on my likes and my measurements really appealed to me. Especially since I didn’t have to meet with this stylist in person. And my wardrobe needed some more “grown-up” clothes. So, I went ahead and decided to order a fix. I mean, why not give it a try? Plus, my birthday was coming up and I decided to splurge a little on myself.

So, a couple of days before my birthday, my fix showed up. I was really excited because I was able to tell my stylist almost exactly what I wanted through a link to my wardrobe Pinterest board aptly titled “I wish I had money” and notes I had left on my order. I had informed her that I don’t have a lot of disposable income given the aforementioned situation of being a student and blah, blah, blah. I asked for them to please keep the order total under $75 since I thought I might be able to swing that. When I opened the beautifully designed box, I was stoked. There were two tissue paper wrapped articles of clothing and three small white boxes.

CLICK here TO READ MY STITCH FIX REVIEW

 

Leave a Reply

